Indiana, PA - Indiana County

GOLF: Official was the one who caught Tiger at Augusta

by The Associated Press on May 02, 2013 10:29 AM

NEW YORK — The television viewer who reported the illegal drop Tiger Woods took during the second round of the Masters was more than just a golf fan.

Sports Illustrated reported Wednesday it was David Eger, a rules expert who has worked for the USGA and the PGA Tour.

Eger said he was watching the Masters

from his home in Florida when he replayed the 15th hole to see how Woods had made a bogey. Woods hit the pin with his third shot and it caromed back into the water.

He dropped from around the same area, hit into 4 feet and made the bogey putt.

“I could see there was a divot — not a divot, a divot hole — when he played the shot the second time that was not there the first time,” Eger told the magazine. “I played it again and again. I could see that the fairway was spotless the first time he played the shot and there was that divot hole, maybe 3 or 4 feet in front of where he played after the drop.”

Eger, who also plays on the Champions Tour, said he texted Mickey Bradley, one of the PGA Tour rules officials who was working at Augusta National. Bradley was no longer at the course, but he called Fred Ridley, chairman of the Masters competition committee. Bradley also said he sent a copy of Eger’s text to Ridley and to Mark Russell, the tour’s vice president of competition who serves on the Masters committee.

Woods eventually was given a two-shot penalty for the illegal drop, but he was not disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.

Ridley said at the Masters he reviewed the video and didn’t see a violation, so he chose not to bring it up to Woods before he signed his card after Friday’s round. Woods later said he purposely dropped it a few yards back to avoid hitting the pin, and more questions were brought to Ridley’s attention later that night. Ridley met with Woods before the third round and assessed the penalty.

The magazine said Ridley responded by text message to Bradley that Woods’ drop was closer than Eger’s estimate of 3 to 4 feet and to look at it closer would be “splitting hairs.” That’s why he chose not to bring it up with Woods before he signed his card.

Ridley cited Rule 33-7 to explain why Woods was not disqualified. The rule says disqualification in exceptional cases can be waived by the committee’s discretion. In this case, Ridley said by not talking to Woods about the violation before he signed his card, that was ample reason not to disqualify him.

Eger was director of tournament administration at the PGA Tour for 10 years until joining the USGA as senior director of rules and competition from 1992 to 1995. He returned to the PGA Tour as vice president of competition until 1996.

As a player, Eger won the 1988 U.S. Mid-Amateur and the North and South Amateur in 1991. He also played on three Walker Cup teams, reached the semifinals of the U.S. Amateur twice and has four victories on the Champions Tour.

Next Article
Karzai urges closure of Gitmo
May 02, 2013 10:19 AM
Related Articles
Comments
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2014 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.