brush valley road sign

Brush Valley Township officials announced at Monday’s meeting that a position for supervisor is open due to the resignation of Michele Papakie, effective Dec. 31.

Papakie submitted a letter of resignation that stated since she will no longer be a resident of the township, she is unable to serve the remainder of her term. Applicants must be a resident of the township, having lived in the township continuously for at least one year prior to the appointment of the position, anticipated to be Feb. 4.

Applicants must also be registered to vote. Applications for the appointment are available at the township office during business hours or by contacting Robin Brilhart, township secretary, at (724) 479-3358 or

The deadline to submit an application is 2 p.m. Jan. 28. In other business Monday, supervisors:

• Re-elected David Overdorff as chairman and Samuel Kerr as vice chairman.

• Reappointed Robin Brilhart as secretary, Overdorff as treasurer, Rick Coffman as vacancy board chairman, Scott Overdorff as roadmaster, Tim Burns as solicitor and Charles Westover as emergency management coordinator.

• Announced that terms will be on the ballot this year for auditor (six-year term), and supervisor (two-year term and six-year term).

• Submitted three dirt and gravel/low volume road grant applications for the following roads: Cresswell, $23,101.69, with a grant request of $15,145 and in-kind of $7,956.69; Littletown, $82,960 with a grant request of $78,000 and in-kind of $4,960; and Old Mission, $154,532.33, with a grant request of $144,339.19 and in-kind of $10,193.14.

The board will meet monthly on Mondays Feb. 4, March 4, April 1, May 6, June 3, July 1, Aug. 5, Tuesday Sept. 3 instead of Labor Day, and Mondays Oct. 7, Nov. 4 and Dec. 2, beginning at 7 p.m. at the Brush Valley fire station.