Indiana, PA - Indiana County


on October 18, 2013 10:45 AM

The Catholic Daughters Court St. Bernard #339 Indiana held their reception for new members on Oct. 10. Attending the reception were Chaplain Father Tom Federline and District Deputy Mary Ann Galonski. Federline and legislation chairwoman Gloria Kanick prayed the rosary before the reception for Mary, Our Blessed Mother.

Leading the ceremony was ceremonial coordinator Donna Pike with Florence Huson as pianist. The Degree Team included Jan Sharbaugh as banner bearer. Color guards were Mary K. Moreau, Rita Vislosky and Linda Yesilonis. Mary Jane Hodak escorted the new members to their seats.

Regent and membership chairwoman Josephine Valenti introduced and welcomed new members to the Catholic Daughters, and they received the membership pledge. The new members are Cathy Chiplis, Trish Dalecki, Barbara Minor, Sherri Palmer and Barbara Turnbull. Acting vice regent Marge Antolik read the new members the message of the national chaplain, Father Ed Lamp.

Galonski described the officers’ robes to the new members.

A dedication ceremony to the Blessed Mother was held by the officers: recording secretary Julie Receski, financial secretary Ruth Becker and treasurer Pat Hartwell. The officers unrobed, and a short meeting was held with Regent Josephine Valenti presiding with the report of the chairmen.

Kanick announced the Catholic bishops are urging support to stop federal health care that covers abortion.

Father Tim Kruthaupt drives a 14-seat van to the clinic in Pittsburgh on Wednesdays and Saturdays to pray to stop abortion. Thirteen clinics have been closed.

Kanick also reported on the DCCW. She said the Advent Evening Day of Recollection will be held at St. Emma’s Monastery, Greensburg, on Dec. 4.

Welfare chairwoman Mary Violi reported on her visits to hospital rest homes. She urged all to visit.

Education chairwoman Joy Behr distributed forms for the education contest and urged all to get involved. Bon Ton booklets are still being distributed.

They voted to give St. Ann’s Home a donation for Christmas gifts.

Galonski congratulated new members and urged them all to get involved and be active members in the courts programs.

Federline spoke to the new members and also congratulated them.

He also congratulated Kanick on receiving the Bishop’s Award.

Kanick announced that a fundraiser will be held for the family of member Nancy Robinson in November, due to her house being burned on homecoming weekend.

Special thanks were given to chairwomen Mary Jane Hodak and Carolyn Idzojitic and committee members Catherine Andrie, Marlene Buggey, Suzanne Burkhart, Elaine Cawley, Ruth Cronk, Donna Pike, Mary Alice Salerno and Judy Sipos for the delicious refreshments.

The tables were adorned with pots of beautiful mums and given as door prizes. Winners were Mary K. Moreau, Annette Cusimano, Joy Behr, Barb Turnbull, Veronica Brennan, Ruth Cronk, Eleanore Palilla, Sister Mary Ann Siedlarczyk and Marge Antolik.

Federline gave the closing prayer.

Next month’s meeting will be held on Nov. 14. Chairwomen will be Ann Polizani and Betty Lukehart. Rosary will begin at 6:30 p.m.

Next Article
October 18, 2013 10:40 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.