Indiana, PA - Indiana County


on March 21, 2014 10:50 AM


The Elks Ladies Auxiliary #931 Indiana held its monthly meeting March 6 with President Linda Malin presiding. Chaplain Sabina Fiala read the opening prayer.

Scholarship Chairman Sandy Shaffer stated she will be sending out bakeless bake sale letters for the scholarship fund. She also stated the program is now 13 years old.

Coupons, magazines and box lids are still being collected.

Trustee Paula Burnett read the list of members with perfect attendance. They were Lavelle Bothel, Betty Cook, Josephine Valenti, Maggie Little, Linda Malin, Debbie Stolitza, Ginney McGinnis, Carrie Harshyne and Linda Short. Trustee Burnett gave each a gift.

The new slate of officers was read by Burnett: president, Pat Morehead; vice president, Letty Calvetti; treasurer, Connie Minick; secretary, Bothel; and chaplain, Fiala.

Betty Cook reported on the children’s Easter party. She stated it will be held from 2 to 4 p.m. on Sunday, March 23. A sign up sheet is in the grill room.

She also stated it was very hard to contact members when the meeting was canceled. Check with Morehead and give her new numbers.

Toni Bellock brought to the club’s attention that the meeting in January will fall on a holiday, New Year’s Day.

The Elks Home Service is having a halupki dinner on Saturday, March 22, at the Elks Lodge for the benefit of the Home Service. The cost will be $10. Halupki is stuffed cabbage. Donations of desserts will be accepted. The home service helps adults and children with disabilities.

Burnett celebrated a birthday in December. Morehead, Buggey, Short and Bothel celebrated a birthday in January. Sandy Shaffer celebrated a birthday in February. Jean Reefer, Harshyne and Stolitza have birthdays in March.

The windfall winner was Burnett.

Special thanks were given to the March Committee for the delicious Irish refreshments. Trivia was played. Winners were Bothel, McGinnis, Fiala and Buggey.

Irish bingo was played, and the winners were Little, Buggey, Stolitza, Burnett, Diane Zombette, Bothel and Twila Montgomery.

The door prize winners were Harshyne and Kathy Hawk.

Next month’s meeting will be held on April 3. The installation of officers will be held.



The AARP Evergreen Chapter 1581 met at the VFW for its March meeting.

Members were greeted by Harold and Maggie Little and Harold and Theresa Cole.

President Marvin Seffler called the meeting to order. The invocation was given by Karen Swisher. Members stood to pledge the flag and to sing “God Bless America” led by Bruce Jenkins.

Birthdays for February and March were recognized. Minutes of the January meeting were read. The treasurer’s report was given.

Joan Boske reported on get well and sympathy cards that were mailed.

Cookies were provided by Pat Craig, Sarah Craig, Pam George and Helen Whitmer.

Judy Bash has planned a bus tour to the Flight 93 Memorial and Quecreek Mine with lunch at Coal Miners Caf´┐ę on May 17. The bus will leave Indiana at 8 a.m. and return before dark. Members and nonmembers are welcome to go on this tour. For more information, call Judy at (724) 349-3625.

Jack Stile gave a report on legislative concerns.

Della Jean Manning told about a fundraiser for the Tomorrow’s Hope military homeless shelter. This will be done at our picnic in June.

There will be a soup, salad and dessert luncheon at our April 15 meeting. Anyone wishing to donate a food item can call Helen at (724) 463-7448. This luncheon will be at noon followed by the business meeting.

Cindi Kordell provided the musical program.



President Patti Ann Cribbs called the meeting of the Blairsville Elks 406 Ladies Auxiliary to order. There were 16 members present, including seven officers. Absent was Marge Patz, secretary; Ruth Brozeski, right guard; Kathy Cobler, left guard; Shirley Jones, past president; and Kathy Cardellino and Carol Pike, trustees.

The treasurer’s report was placed on file for audit.

Kathy Cobler is in the hospital for dehydration. Bob Jones (Shirley Jones’ husband) was in the hospital and transferred to Loyalhanna for rehabilitation and evaluation.

The slate of officers was presented by Marie Kenney and Kathy Teslevich, co-chairwomen, along with Jean Shepherd, Jean Gallo and Sharon Angelo for the 2014-15 year: Nancy Shurina, president; Mary Ann Thomas, vice president; Marge Patz, secretary; Marth Miller, chaplain; Ella Wodowski, inner guard; Ruth Brozeski, right guard; Lisa Fodor, left guard; Sandy Avalli, parliamentarian; Patti Ann Cribbs, past president; and trustees Shirley Jones, three years, Jane Potochniak, two years and Kathy Cardellino, one year. A motion was made by Evelyn Bondra, past president, and seconded by Pat Stoklosa, to accept the slate of officers. The motion carried.

For the annual card party, a motion was made by Marie Kenney, past president, and seconded by Pat Stoklosa that the Auxiliary pay for the chicken salad, ham salad and rolls. The motion carried.

The card party will be held from 6 to 9 p.m. April 28.

Scholarships are due to be at the schools on April 30.

The Good of the Order was won by Jean Gallo, past president; she donated it back to the auxiliary.

Jean Gallo and Jane Potochniak celebrated birthdays.

Jean Shepherd and Martha Miller, past presidents, hosted, serving pizza and coffee. The tables were decorated in a St. Patrick’s Day theme. There were individual St. Patrick’s Day hats filled with candy at every place setting.

Hats were also filled with nuts on the table.

Next Article
Wild game breakfast scheduled
March 21, 2014 10:45 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.