UNITED school logo

EAST WHEATFIELD TOWNSHIP — The United school directors

authorized a motion Tuesday to correct title issues in connection with the real estate owned by Indiana County Technology Center.

ICTC’s Joint Operating Committee “became aware that Penns Manor Area School District and Purchase Line School District were not parties on the existing deeds to the ICTC property,” board President Eric Matava said today in an email.

Matava and Superintendent Barbara Parkins said those districts were not included on the ICTC deeds due to there being a period of time during which they were not participating school districts with the technology center.

Penns Manor became a member of ICTC in December 2011, and Purchase Line joined in July 2014, according to information relayed by Parkins from ICTC Executive Director Michael McDermott.

Matava also took time at Tuesday’s meeting to remember director Sandra Mack, who passed away Nov. 7 at age 72.

“In addition to a lifelong career in education, Sandy dedicated her time as a United board member for the past eight years,” Matava said in a statement.

“Sandy always came to the board meetings with a positive attitude and a smile on her face. She had a love for the students of United that was shown through all of the time and effort that she devoted to the district.

“We were fortunate to have Sandy as part of our team and will truly miss having her at the table.”

The board also recognized two outgoing directors, Ronald Moyer, who served on the board for eight years, and Leah Bakaysa, who served for four.

Their seats, as well as Mack’s, were up for re-election Nov. 5. The winners for Regions I and II will be certified by the courthouse Monday, and the board likely will be advertising to fill the Region III vacancy.

In other business Tuesday, directors voted to:

• Schedule the reorganization meeting of the school board for 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 3, in the high school boardroom.

• Authorize a proposal from Freedom Security Window Film, a division of Best Group Holdings Inc., for 3M Freedom Security Window Film to be installed/ bonded to the exterior door units at the elementary school at a cost of $17,175. The cost will be covered by the Safe Schools Grant.

• Approve a planned service agreement with Johnson Controls Inc. at $3,595 to conduct operational efficiency inspections of the district’s HVAC system, air handling units and digital controls; the agreement began June 1 and ends May 30.

• Approve a proposal from Havtech to measure out, document and provide Daikin piping as built for the administrative system at a cost not to exceed $2,847; a proposal to replace Daikin Refnet and associated Refnet piping at the high school central office conference room at a cost not to exceed $6,760; and a proposal to recover the remaining refrigerant from the Daikin system in the high school library at a cost not to exceed $5,972.

• Appoint Dr. Nichole Lysick as the school district physician for the current school year at a salary of $8,000.

• Appoint Nathan Bevard as a homebound instructor for a 12th-grade student for as long as services are required during the school year at a compensation of $39 per hour.

• Approve Joshua Henning as assistant track coach with compensation of $1,903.

• Authorize an activity request from Patricia Berezansky to attend the Pennsylvania Department of Education Data Summit from March 15 to 17 in Hershey at a cost of $909.96.

• Approve activity requests from Acey Gongaware to attend the Pennsylvania Music Educators Association District 3 Region Festival from Feb. 27 to 29 at Corry High School at a cost of $1,570.58; and the PMEA All State Festival and Conference from April 22 to 25 at the Kalahari Resort in Poconos at a cost of $1,715.

• Approve an activity request from Robert Penrose to attend the PIAA cross country meet held Nov. 1 and 2 in Hershey at a cost of $1,300.

• Accept donations of $250 from the Pittsburgh chapter of the National Tooling & Machining Association Foundation to the Robotics Club; $1,000 to the district from the Walmart Community Grants Team to purchase two iPads for use with the Lego Education kits at the elementary and high schools; and $100 from The American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees for the district’s participation in the Paint the Plow program.

• Accept the resignation, with regret, of elementary aide Pamela Strong effective this past Monday. Strong served the district for 10 years and 10 months.

• Approve Curtis Kenley and Charles Slebodnick as bus drivers for 2019-20.