Indiana, PA - Indiana County

Apollo-Ridge students earn excellence awards

on July 05, 2014 10:50 AM

SPRING CHURCH — Recipients of the President’s Award for Educational Excellence were announced at Apollo-Ridge’s fifth-grade elementary graduation and awards program in June.

The 27 students who qualified this year are Delaney Ashbaugh, Ashley Bender, Elizabeth Bowen, Isabella Brank, Abigail Bush, Annabelle Casella, Justin Coleman, Corey Couch, Mason Dosch, Jacob Duriancik, Amber Earnest, Delaney Hempseed, Zachary Hreha, Jeffrey Krug, Jonathan Lute Jr., Andrew Lytle, Thomas Oraskovich, Jeremy Orvosh, Anastasia Rabickow, Keighton Reese, Dominyc Reiter, Morgan Shupe, Hannah Stoughton, Alexander Suman, Emily Tichinel, Elliott Weigand and Aaliyah Zaffutto.

The President’s Education Awards Program, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education in partnership with the National Association of Elementary School Principals and the National Association of Secondary School Principals, was developed to help principals recognize and honor those students who have achieved high academic goals by their hard work and dedication to learning.

Eligibility is based on the student’s grade-point average, grades in specialty classes and score on the Pennsylvania State Systems of Assessment Test administered in fourth grade. Qualifying students received a certificate signed by the president, the U.S. secretary of education and Principal Courtney Anderson.

Recipients also received a lapel pin, inscribed with the presidential seal.

Next Article
NASCAR: Kahne wins Nationwide race
July 05, 2014 10:49 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.