Indiana, PA - Indiana County


on June 07, 2013 10:40 AM


Joan K. Hanna, of White Township, graduated cum laude from the School of International Service at American University in Washington, D.C., on May 12.

She was awarded a Bachelor of Arts degree in international studies.

She is the daughter of Jack and Carol Hanna.


Tyler Cousins was recently selected as a Weiss Breakthrough Scholar at Penn State University.


This scholarship program recognizes only a few outstanding Penn State students each year who have demonstrated academic talent and leadership abilities. The scholarship will continue over the four years at Penn State.


Cousins has been accepted into the College of Engineering at Penn State, University Park, studying nuclear engineering for the academic year 2013-14.


He has maintained a grade-point average of 4.208 at Indiana Area High School. He has been active in student government throughout high school and was active with the Quiz Bowl team and as a member of the National Honor Society.

He is the son of Chris and Donna Cousins, of Indiana.


Bob Jones University recently announced that Paige Heiple, of Homer City, and Casey Newcomer, of Indiana, are recipients of the BJU Academic Excellence and Leadership Award.

This award recognizes student leaders who achieve an ACT score above 25 before entering college and maintain a 3.2 GPA during their college years. The award provides up to $1,500 per year, for a maximum of $6,000 over eight semesters.


Casey Lauber, of Indiana, made the dean’s list at The University of Akron for the spring semester.

Lauber is majoring in finance-corporate financial management.


To be eligible for the dean’s list, students must maintain a GPA of 3.25 or higher and be enrolled in 12 or more credit hours.

Grove City College dean’s list

The following area residents were named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Grove City College.

• Mark Schrecengost, a junior mathematics major, has earned high distinction. He is a 2010 graduate of Apollo-Ridge High School and is the son of Mark and Regina Schrecengost, of Avonmore.


• Claire Boykiw, a sophomore sociology major, has earned high distinction. She is a 2011 graduate of Indiana Area Senior High School and is the daughter of Dr. Mark and Sharon Boykiw, of Indiana.


• Gideon Ludwig, a junior computer science major. He is a 2010 graduate of Indiana Area Senior High School and is the son of Mary Ludwig, of Indiana.


• David Goehring, a sophomore computer science major. He is a 2011 graduate of Pennsylvania Cyber Charter School and is the son of Lee and Wanda Goehring, of Penn Run.


Students with a GPA of 3.85 or above are named to the dean’s list with high distinction; those with a GPA of 3.6 to 3.84 earn dean’s list with distinction honors; and those with a GPA of 3.40 to 3.59 make the dean’s list.


Alicia Glasser, of Marion Center, received a Juris Doctor degree from the Harrisburg campus of Widener Law School, where she was among 121 graduates, at a ceremony held May 19.


Emily Ciocca, of Indiana, was among more than 300 students who received diplomas at Marietta College’s 176th graduation ceremony on May 12.

Ciocca completed requirements for a Bachelor of Arts degree with a major in communication studies.

Carl Bernstein, a Pulitzer-Prize winning reporter and author, delivered the commencement address at the college in Marietta, Ohio.


Anthony Atkins, of Northern Cambria, and Evelyn Curry, of Mahaffey, recently graduated from Youngstown State University.

Atkins received an Associate of Technical Study degree in electric utility technology/power plant operations.


Curry received a Bachelor of Arts degree in geography.

Nearly 1,200 students graduated during commencement ceremonies on the YSU campus.


Leann Wendell, of Blairsville, has graduated from Pacific University with a Master of Fine Arts degree in writing.

Pacific University is located in Forest Grove, Ore., and has an enrollment of about 3,400 students.


Kayla Jasper, of Indiana, has been named to the spring dean’s list at St. Bonaventure University.


Jasper is enrolled in the St. Bonaventure-George Washington University School of Medicine B.S.-M.D. Dual Admissions Program.

She is the daughter of Ron and Paula Jasper.


The following area students were named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at Clarion University.

Samantha Smith, Avonmore; Jamie Tamski, Avonmore; Brianna Switzer, Creekside; Stephanie Lightner, Shelocta; Stephanie Claypoole, Kittanning; Gregg Cunningham, Kittanning; Vanessa Haneke, Kittanning; Courtney Magagnotti, Kittanning; Tiffanny Miller, Kittanning; Elena Montebell, Kittanning; Curtis Shilling Kittanning; Emilee Shiring, Kittanning.


Emily Enterline, Dayton; Victoria West, Dayton; Autumn Kunkle, Rural Valley; Morgan Harkleroad, Mahaffey; Kelsey Bowser, Saltsburg; Kyle Edgar, Indiana; Benjamin Fiscus, Indiana; Lisa Kopczyk, Indiana; Tyler Rinehart, Indiana; Jaimie Weyant, Indiana.


Dalton Pancoast, Blairs-ville; Samantha Bourdess, Clymer; Kiersten Gromley, Home; Nicole Miloser, Home; Katie Baun, Rochester Mills; Rio Coon, Rochester Mills; Rebecca Hall, New Florence; Nicholas Barilar, Rossiter; Jill Sieczkowski, Avonmore; Blayze Stefaniak, Saltsburg; Tanea Lehman-McClure, Seward.


Alyson Nichole Smith, of Kittanning, graduated May 20 from Chatham University in Pittsburgh with a Master of Business Administration degree.

The commencement ceremony was held at the Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall in Pittsburgh.

Bernie Smith Scholarship Winners

On May 14, the Armstrong-Indiana-Clarion Drug and Alcohol Commission, Inc. (AICDAC) awarded Courtney Kuzemchak of Penns Manor High School in Indiana County, Sahara Dickison of Ford City High School in Armstrong County, and Nikki Yeany of Redbank Valley High School in Clarion County with the Bernie Smith Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 each to further their educational endeavors.

The awards were presented by Indiana County Commissioner Patricia Evanko, Armstrong County Commissioner Rich Fink, and Clarion County Commissioner Wayne Brosius and members of the Armstrong-Indiana-Clarion Drug and Alcohol Commission Board along with Marie Dillon-Griffith, board president, and Gladys Smith, wife of the late Bernie Smith.

The Bernie Smith Memorial Scholarship is presented yearly to one student each from Armstrong, Indiana and Clarion counties. The honorees are chosen from the graduating class and are recommended by their high school Student Assistant Program Team. Eligible students are those most exemplifying the mission of the Armstrong-Indiana-Clarion Drug and Alcohol Commission by way of their involvement, leadership and accomplishments through their high school career.

Bernie Smith served as an Indiana County Commissioner from 1995 to 2006 and was a member of the Armstrong-Indiana Drug and Alcohol Commission Board.

Next Article
MLB: Drug investigation ongoing
June 07, 2013 10:35 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.