Indiana, PA - Indiana County

BLAIRSVILLE: Ex-coach to fill board vacancy

by on January 07, 2014 10:50 AM

BLAIRSVILLE — Blairsville council retained its president, named another person to fill a vacant seat and questioned whether it was going to have to appoint someone else to round out the group during a reorganization meeting Monday.

At the meeting, council agreed that John Bertolino should remain as president and named newcomer Paul Fodor as vice president. Fodor, president of Blairsville's volunteer fire department, is taking over the council seat formerly held by Mary Ugoletti, who decided not to seek re-election.

Fodor ran unopposed in the election.

Also Monday, council appointed former Blairsville High School football coach Albert "Ab" Dettorre to the seat formerly held by Ron Evanko. Dettore was the sole applicant for the seat, which Evanko vacated to become mayor. Evanko won the job over former Mayor Joe Caugherty, whom Evanko defeated in the May primary.

Dettorre, 59, said he sought the nomination because serving on council is something that had piqued his interest. And now, he said, he has the time to devote to it. Dettorre had served as football coach for 26 seasons and resigned last spring over disagreements with Blairsville-Saltsburg school board.

Meanwhile, council questioned whether they were going to have to make a second appointment to council as it remains to be seen whether newcomer Denise Dunmire claims the seat she won by write-in in the November election.  

Dunmire did not attend the meeting last night. And Fodor and borough manager Tim Evans said they have not heard from her since after the election, when she said she intended to claim the seat.  

Evanko, too, said he did not know what Dunmire's intentions are.

Dunmire could not be reached for comment this morning.

In other matters, council reappointed several other people to seats on various boards and authorities.

Reappointed were J. Wayne George to the Blairsville Municipal Authority; Tom Nastase to the planning commission; Leann Chaney and Polly Ringler to the shade tree commission; Joe Nease to the parking authority; Howard Gibbons to the inactive zoning hearing board; Curt Ramsden to the parks and recreation board; and Jon Herby to the community development authority.

Winning new appointments were Garvin Piper, who was named to the community development authority, and Glenn Sheffler, who was named to the parks and recreation board.

Council retained the firm Remington, Vernick & Beach Engineers as the borough engineer. Robert Bell was retained as the solicitor.

Council meetings will continue to be held at 6 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month.

Sam Kusic is a staff writer for The Indiana Gazette.
Next Article
January 07, 2014 10:40 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.