Indiana, PA - Indiana County

CAMPAIGN 2014: Jefferson County man enters race for 66th

by The Indiana Gazette on March 22, 2014 10:50 AM

Harry G. Bodenhorn has announced his bid to succeed retiring state Rep. Sam Smith in the 66th Legislative District, which encompasses Jefferson County and parts of Armstrong and Indiana counties.

Bodenhorn, running for the Republican nomination, said in a press release that his motivation to enter the race is to serve and give back to the community he was raised in.

He grew up in Coolspring, Jefferson County, and said he received a solid education from Punxsutawney Area High School, followed by the Ohio Institute and Williamsport Community College.

After serving four years in the U.S. Navy, he wanted to return home to his family and community. He moved back to Coolspring and is employed at an automotive business that he and his brother Edward have owned for more than 40 years. He also works as a substitute instructor at Jefferson County-DuBois AVTS.

He is a deputy sheriff in Jefferson County, and has served as chairman of the Oliver Township board of supervisors. He is a member of the Coolspring United Methodist Church, the Reynoldsville Eagles, American Legion and Masonic Lodge.

He has been married to Mary Ann Bodenhorn, the former Mary Ann Cribbs, for 39 years. They have four daughters and nine grandchildren.

Bodenhorn listed these campaign focus areas:

• Ensure schools receive necessary funding to provide the highest quality education

• Promote growth and attract new businesses

• Establish term limits for all government offices

Bodenhorn said he is committed to learning all he can about the needs of the residents of the 66th District.

“I am proud to be a member of this great community and would be humbled to have the opportunity to serve it and strengthen it,” he said in a release.

The legislative seat is being vacated by state Rep. Sam Smith, who will retire after the end of his 14th term on Nov. 30.

Three other Jefferson County men have also announced their candidacy: Paul Corbin, of Washington Township; Chris Dush, of Brockway; and Phil Mennetti, of Gaskill Township.

The 66th District encompasses all of Jefferson County, northern Indiana County (Marion Center and Smicksburg boroughs and Banks, Canoe, East Mahoning, Grant, North Mahoning and West Mahoning townships) and one township in Armstrong County.

Next Article
Defying gravity at Mack Park
March 22, 2014 10:49 AM
Defying gravity at Mack Park
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.