Indiana, PA - Indiana County

Crowd to vie for Frick's seat

by RANDY WELLS on November 02, 2013 11:00 AM

At least eight Indiana County Republicans are seriously interested in completing the final two years of Dave Frick’s term as a county commissioner. In an effort to keep voters focused on the local campaigns in next week’s general election, the names of the eight commissioner hopefuls are not expected to be released until after Tuesday.

Frick announced in September that he will resign Dec. 31, and the Indiana County Republican Committee has started the process of choosing his successor, who will fill the position through the end of 2015.

“There has been an immense interest in receiving the committee’s nomination to serve out the remainder of Commissioner Frick’s term,” said Jesse Daniel, chairman of the Indiana County Republican Party.

“On an almost daily basis after the resignation news broke, a different person would inquire of me about details regarding the commissioner position or receiving the committee’s nomination.

“I would estimate about 15 people showed an interest in the position. I suspect that after people gather information and reflect on that information, we will have about eight official candidates for the nomination.”

Under the county code, candidates for the position must have been a registered Republican in Indiana County at the time of Frick’s election to his current term in November 2012.

The eight candidates include men and women and two of the candidates are members of the Indiana County Republican Committee.

Those wanting to be considered as an appointee were asked to submit an application and a r←sum← to the committee. Those were to be postmarked by Oct. 31.

The candidates have been given a list of the names of committee members, and the hopefuls are now contacting the committee members and lobbying for their support.

At 6 p.m. on Dec. 5 at the Rustic Lodge, the candidates will address the committee and each candidate will have a few minutes to respond to prepared questions. The committee will then vote by secret ballot and choose a nominee to succeed Frick. The nominee’s name will be sent to Indiana County President Judge William Martin for possible confirmation.

The nominee may be sworn in soon after Frick’s resignation, leaving virtually no vacancy on the three-member board of commissioners.

The Indiana County Republican Committee now has 88 members. Most of the members are elected from local precincts and other members include the county’s elected Republican row officers, GOP state legislators and Republican representatives in Congress.

Frick, who as a member of the Republican committee will have a vote in choosing his successor, has seen the names of the candidates.

“There’s some quality people on the list,” Frick said.

Next Article
Wier pleads guilty to forging name
November 02, 2013 10:59 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.