Indiana, PA - Indiana County

INDIANA AREA: Harley chosen for third year as president

by on December 04, 2013 10:55 AM

Thomas Harley, of Indiana, was re-elected Monday to a third year as president of the Indiana Area School District board of directors, and freshman board member John Barbor was chosen to serve as vice president.

The officers were chosen during the board’s annual reorganization, after Barbor and three others elected Nov. 5 — Deborah Clawson, Julia Trimarchi Cuccaro and John Uccellini — were sworn into office.

Harley, the only director nominated for president, was elected 8-1, with Barbor, Clawson, Cuccaro, Uccellini and holdover directors Hilliary Creely, Robert Gongaware, Brian Petersen and himself in favor. Director Diana Paccapaniccia, who took the oath to begin her third term on the board, voted no without comment.

In brief prepared remarks, Harley thanked the board for supporting him and reiterated the board’s commitments assuring that 100 percent of children should be able to read by third grade.

“Currently our intervention efforts are far too late and far too little,” Harley said. “We must stop going through the motions. We must commit to robust intervention in the early grades … to lead to better outcomes for all of our students.

“We have our work cut out for us, but where there is a will, a way will be found.”

Barbor, who was elected to serve the two remaining years of a term vacated soon after the 2011 election, carried a unanimous vote for vice president.

Barbor succeeds Walter Schroth, who lost in the Nov. 5 election, in the leadership position.

Cuccaro was elected to represent the district on the Indiana County Technology Center joint operating committee, to complete the term vacated by Alison Billon, who chose not to run for re-election to the school board this year.

The board voted to continue holding full business meetings on the second and fourth Mondays of each month, with a few exceptions, calling the second Monday “regular” and the fourth Monday “special” meetings. No meetings will be held in 2014 on Memorial Day, July 28, Nov. 24 or Dec. 22.

The board also agreed to a schedule of committee meetings circulated among the directors, which Harley said would be subject to confirmation by each committee chairman.

The reorganization formalities lasted 10 minutes, then the board convened a closed-door executive session to brief newly seated members on the status of labor talks with Indiana Area Education Association. The teachers’ union contract expires June 30.

IAEA President Michael Tshudy had no comment about negotiations, but congratulated the new members and commended outgoing directors Schroth, Billon, David Ferguson and Robert Werner for serving on the board.

Chauncey Ross is the Gazette’s fixture at Indiana Area and Homer-Center school board meetings, has been seen with pen and notepad in area police stations and courts, and is something of an Open Records Act and Sunshine Law advocate. He also manages the Gazette’s websites and answers your questions about them.
Next Article
UNITED: Board president to serve another year
December 04, 2013 10:50 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.