Indiana, PA - Indiana County

League presents Clark awards

on May 26, 2013 2:50 AM

This year's League of Women Voters Peggy Clark Award went to Gerald Smith, left, and Tia Kordell, second from left; Linda Gwinn, of the Blairsville Community Redevelopment Authority, center; and Brian Okey.

Also pictured is Sherene Hess, president of the LOWV. Clark became interested in environmental issues after her family’s farm lost its water due to deep coal mining.

She organized the Citizens Against Water Loss Due to Mining in the 1970s to lobby for a state law to protect homeowners. She now lives in the Chambersburg area.

Next Article
PIRATES 5, BREWERS 2: Locke, Bucs stifle Brewers
May 26, 2013 2:40 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.