Indiana, PA - Indiana County

Partial results for school board, tax collector

by By The Indiana Gazette on May 21, 2013 11:12 PM

Incomplete vote totals from the Indiana County Court House show former Indiana Area School District Superintendent Deborah Clawson leading both Republican and Democratic races for nomination to the school board of directors.

In vote totals issued from the courthouse data center at 9:34 p.m. — without references to the total number of precincts reporting — Clawson had 15.3 percent of Republican votes and 16.2 percent of Democrats’ votes.

Ten candidates have cross-filed for four seats. With four nominations at stake, Walter Schroth, Julia Trimarchi Cuccaro and Eric Palmer followed on the Republican side. The difference between first and fourth places was just 51 votes.

On the Democratic side, Cuccaro, Palmer and John Uccellini followed Clawson.

For a two-year term on the board, a seat vacated by Terry Ray in early 2012, John Barbor led Rob Werner on both ballots, but by only 1 percent in Republican totals and 22 percent on the Democratic ballot.

In a race for tax collector in White Township, Jeffrey Mack led a field of nine Republican candidates with 35 percent of the vote. Donna Cupp trailed at 21.4 percent.

Among Democrats, Barbara Levine led two other candidates with 54.4 percent of the vote.

Turnout trended low in the precincts totaled so far: 20.2 percent of Republicans voted Tuesday, and 15.5 percent of Democrats cast ballots.

Next Article
Dems settle races in Pittsburgh, Philly
May 21, 2013 10:12 PM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.