Indiana, PA - Indiana County

PURCHASE LINE: Board re-elects Pittman as president

by on December 04, 2013 10:50 AM

PURCHASE LINE — Mary Ann Pittman was re-elected president of the Purchase Line School Board during a work session meeting Tuesday at the high school.

Pittman has served as president of the board for one year. During the yearly reorganization meeting, Vice President James Stiffler was also re-elected. Stiffler has also served for one year.

The board also swore in new board members William Pearce and Sandra Fyock and returning board members Joshua Hopkins and Scott Gearhart. One vacant seat remained on the board due to Pearce winning both a two-year and four-year seat on the board.

The board interviewed three candidates for this seat: former board member David Syster; Mary Jane Hodak, who had previously sat on the board; and newcomer Raymond Kauffman. Syster won the empty seat with five votes and was subsequently sworn in.

In other business, the board appointed Fyock as its Pennsylvania School Board Association liason.

District Superintendent Joseph Bradley praised maintenance manager Carl Jones and all maintenance workers in creating a secure school atmosphere. Jones distributed a story from a trade magazine to the board members that outlined security measures a school should be taking in order to prevent an act of violence on school grounds such as a shooting.

“We’re on point with everything in this article,” Jones said.

“I’m really proud of everything that Mr. Jones and everyone does for this school’s safety,” Bradley said.

The board discussed a proposal by high school Principal James Price for the creation of a world music and music history course that would begin during the 2014-15 school year. The board will vote on this proposal during the regular voting meeting to be held Monday.

Jeremy Hartley is a staff writer for The Indiana Gazette.
Next Article
Christmas event to be held
December 04, 2013 10:49 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.