Indiana, PA - Indiana County

Armstrong hall selects induction class

by The Indiana Gazette on March 28, 2012 2:15 AM

The Armstrong County Sports Hall of Fame will hold its annual induction banquet at 5 p.m. Sunday, April 29, at Laube Hall in Freeport.

The 2012 induction class includes Dave Buchner and Jody (McMeans) Dean, former standout athletes, respectively, at Apollo-Ridge and Dayton high schools, and Frank T. Brochetti and Ray Alcorn, who are being recognized as part of the hall of fame's inaugural special awards for military service.

Buchner, a graduate of IUP, earned nine letters at Apollo-Ridge, four in football, four in basketball and one in track and field. He was a three-year starter and captain of the football team and helped lead Apollo-Ridge to the WPIAL championship game in 1965.

He went to Wyoming on a scholarship and played on the freshman team before a knee injury ended his career.

Dean earned 12 letters at Dayton, four each in basketball, volleyball and softball. She became the first girl in school history to score 1,000 career points in basketball and led the area in scoring as a junior.

She went on to Westminster College, where lettered four times in basketball and played softball for one season. She was an NAIA Scholar Athlete in 1988 and '89, an Academic All-American and was inducted into the Westminster Hall of Fame.

Brochetti, a graduate of Shannock Valley High School, was a three-year letterman in football, basketball and baseball. He went to IUP and played one season of football.

He enlisted in the U.S. Army in 1971 and was killed in action in Vietnam on April 8, 1972. He was posthumously awarded the Vietnam Service Medal, the National Defense Service Medal, the Silver Star, the Purple Heart and the Republic of Vietnam Campaign Medal. His father, John "Spy" Brochetti, is one of the founding members of the Armstrong hall.

Alcorn, a graduate of Dayton High School, played basketball for four year and went on to Penn State Mount Alto, where he was a member of the basketball, baseball and track and field teams.

He served in the U.S. Navy, achieving the rank of captain. While flying a mission over North Vietnam, his plane was shot down, and he was a prisoner of war from Dec. 22, 1965, to Feb. 12, 1973. He was awarded two Silver Stars, three Bronze Stars, two Purple Hearts, four Legion of Merit awards, the Distinguished Flying Cross, the POW Medal and the Meritorious Service Medal.

The rest of the induction class consists of Shawn Allen Earl, Ford City, archery; Joe Ridgeley, football, Freeport; Adam J. Brochetti, Kittanning, wrestling; Andrew Balbo, Leechburg, football; Don Marco, Leechburg, running; Carrie Miles, Worthington, track and field; and William J. Hodak, Cowansville.

In addition, the hall of fame will recognize two student-athletes from each high school in the county. They are: Lexi Orlowski and Brad Campbell, Apollo-Ridge; Laina Walker and Brandon Hagofsky, Elderton; Lynsey Gugino and Jonathan Turner, Freeport; Erin McCue and Justin Ryan, Karns City; Megan Kidder and Mitchel Scholl, Kittanning; Paula McCorkle and D.J. Oberdorf, Leechburg; Cheyenne Dubia and Clay Kennemuth, Redbank Valley; and Cassanda Baum and Jason McCaslin, West Shamokin.

For tickets, contact Dennis Wolfe at (724) 882-3557.

Next Article
NFL: Tomlin defends coaching, personnel moves
March 28, 2012 2:00 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.