Indiana, PA - Indiana County

ELI NELLIS: Golfers tee off on summer

on June 01, 2014 1:40 AM

Rick Moorhead, Ellen Blazavich, James M. Miller, Frank Holuta, Joe Marcoly, Ed Onderick, Darlene Shea, Candy Joseph, Sally Adamo, Carolyn Stiles and Mike Dixson were the big local winners on Monday, taking a share of the title for various Memorial Day events that signaled area golf getting into full swing for the summer.

Moorhead and Blazavich got their flags the furthest, tying for first in Meadow Lane’s Memorial Day Flag Event. Kevin Fleck took third, followed by Elaine Berringer, Bernadette Sgro-Hodak, Joe McNelis, Garet Weston and Scott Rice.

At the Indiana Country Club, the foursome of Miller, Holuta, Marcoly and Onderick scored a 122 to win by two shots in their Memorial Day men’s event. Tony Kuzneski, Walt Lewis, Cedric Tyger and Dan Prushnok tied Jim Calhoun, Mike Calhoun, Brian Kruk and Jeff Petrilli were two strokes back.

Wally Stapleton, Dave Hoff, Don Erickson and Bill Lydick took fourth place, and Joe Geary, Tom Sgriccia, Steve Smith and Arch Moore finished fifth.

Dick Bedger shot closest to the pin on No. 7, and Joe Geary turned the trick on No. 17.

Shea, Joseph, Adamo and Stiles teamed up to win the Indiana Country Club women’s event at 119. Bernadette McHugh, Sonia Levy, Nancy Doverspike and Beck Stapleton finished one shot back. Pat Bonarrigo, Gail Gerlach and Roz Cavalancia took third with a blind draw of Joseph.

Kristin Rombaugh shot closest to the pin on No. 7, and Mary Moore did so on No. 17.

Dixson broke a tie at 72 with Dave Myers for the 37th annual Homer City Open championship at the Indian Springs Golf and Country Club, also on Monday.

Bob Plish, Mark Sweeney and Bruce Daskivich tied for third place at 74.

Among the other flight winners were Dennis Chutorich (first), Tony Dixson (second), Randy Thomas (third), Tony Dellafiora (fourth) and Nick Bender (fifth).


AT MEADOW LANE: Rick Moorhead previewed his successful holiday by winning six gross skins and two net skins last Sunday, in addition to two gross and another net last Saturday, in the Gross/Net Skins Weekend Event.

On Sunday, Jordan Riddle took home three skins in the net division, and Rich Riddle and Alan Kuckuck got two. Kuckuck won three gross skins, and Kevin Fleck claimed one.

In Saturday’s competition, Fran Super won two net skins, while Michael Usko, Riddle, Bernadette Sgro-Hodak and Dean Tozer took one each.

Tozer and Travis Redinger took two gross skins each, and Usko won one.

• Moorhead, Jesse Putt, Chris Edwards and club pro Elmer Bland Jr. teamed up to take second place at the Tri-State PGA’s Rolling Hills Country Club Pro-Am on Friday, May 16, in McMurray.

• Bland will instruct junior golf clinics at the course in June and July. There will be six sessions each month, running from 9 to 11:30 a.m.

The cost is $100 per child per clinic.

Students will be given instruction on etiquette, safety, rules, swing basics, driving, iron play, chipping and putting. Classes will be cumulative, building on previous knowledge each week. Total instruction time for the six sessions will be 15 hours.

• The Coney Island-Meadow Lane Match-Play Tournament gets under way today with a new twist. All first-round matches are set to be played at 1 p.m. today.

The tournament runs through the summer.


AT INDIANA COUNTRY CLUB: David Prushnok and Mike Kluchurosky won the first ICC Cup title on Saturday, May 17.

The two scored a 65 in the better-ball-of-partners event.

Jim Shea and Henry Zellers shot a 69 and took second place in a playoff, edging out Mike Donnelly and Don White, who came in third. Brad Martineau and Scott Cook and James M. Miller and Barre Bell also scored 69s and participated in the playoff.

Martineau and Cook won the team driving contest, Doug Gradwell won the putting contest, and Lou Scerbo won the pitching contest.

• Gary Dickie, Steve Tunink, John Campbell and Bill Lear won the Opening Day men’s tournament on Saturday, May 3, with 165 points.

John McMurdy, Jake Creps, Kluchurosky and Jerry Gillette came in second, two points back. Tom Todd, Rickey Miller, Shea and Kevin Kubica finished third, followed by Geoff Kugler, Mike Calhoun, Joe Marcoly and Chris Force.

Frank Holuta sank the longest putt on No. 9, and Lear shot closest to the pin on No. 17.

Darlene Shea, Candy Joseph and Kristin Rombaugh scored 123 points to win the women’s tournament.

Sue McMurdy, Sandi Gillette and Anne White took second place with 100 points, followed by Tanya Martineau, Johnna Lear and Roz Cavalancia with 92.

Sue McMurdy shot closest to the pin on No. 7, and Sandi Gillette made the longest putt on No. 18.

• Next Saturday is the Women’s Golf Association Queen Bee day one.


AT INDIAN SPRINGS: The 59th annual State VFW Golf Tournament is next weekend.

Players will play a qualifying round either Thursday or Friday, and 36-hole medal play is Saturday and Sunday.

Rod Crumbling Jr., of York County, has won the last two tournaments and five of the last six.


PETRO SCRAMBLE: The John Petro Memorial Scholarship Four-Person Scramble will be held Saturday, June 28, at the Indian Springs Golf and Country Club.

John “Scrunt” Petro was a teacher, coach and athletic director at the Penns Manor Area School District.

Registration is at noon, and players tee off at 1 p.m. The cost is $40 per player and includes greens fees, a cart (two perfoursome), beverages and a catered meal at the Clymer Slovak Club after golf.

Proceeds go toward a $1,000 scholarship given annually to a Penns Manor student who exemplifies the spirit of Penns Manor.

The suggested entry deadline is Friday, June 20.

Non-golfing friends are welcome to join, either at noon at the course or at the Clymer Slovak Club at 4 p.m.

For information, call Jack Yard at (724) 388-6965 or Diz at (724) 349-6287 or (724) 388-5085.

Next Article
Twitter cash hunt moves south
June 01, 2014 1:35 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.