Indiana, PA - Indiana County

ELI NELLIS: VFW leading toward another playoff

by on August 11, 2013 2:39 AM

The Indian Springs club championship has gone to playoff holes three years in a row. Don’t be surprised if it does again today.

Mike Coy, Bruce Daskivich, Bob Plish and Colton Wiggins are tied for the first-round lead after shooting 1-under-par 70s in Saturday’s first round of the VFW course championship, while John Caruso (72), Matt Reed (73) and Matt McGinnis (74) stayed within striking distance.

Sam Sorber, who outlasted Reed in four holes last year, is not defending his title. Plish won three titles in a row from 2009 to 2011.

Wiggins won the Meadow Lane club championship last weekend.

The playoff, which has become a staple in recent years, typically goes around the lake, on holes No. 15 through 18.

Danny Clark also shot a 70 to lead the junior championship.

Cathy Bloom shot a 82 to take a seven-shot lead in the ladies’ championship.

Other flight leaders are: Bill Brown (76), first; Craig Ciranni (73), second; Steve Bloom (80), third; Cloyd Ream (80), fourth; Jim Zerbini (82), fifth; and Dave Kensey (89), sixth.

• Butch Leonard shot rounds of 81 and 80 for a 161 total to win the Indian Springs senior championship, played Thursdays, Aug. 1 and 8. Leonard finished eight strokes ahead of Ron Nye and Ted Zernick.

Bob Schneider won the super seniors title in three playoff holes after matching Jim Zerbini at 153 through 36 holes.

Peache Krejocic (171) and Ducky Bistok (177) rounded out the top five in the seniors.

Mel Woodring and Rex Heasley (158) tied for third in the super seniors, and Cloyd Ream (161) took fifth.

• Ginny McGinnis won the play of the day, Cheerleaders 2-4-6-8, in the Tuesday Morning Ladies’ League.

Betty Cook had the low putts with 15. Jennie Morandi and Pat Lewandowski had chip-ins for birdies, and Loretta Lowman added a chip-in.


AT THE INDIANA COUNTRY CLUB: Don Erickson became the third ICC member to qualify for a USGA event this year, taking the lone spot available in the USGA Senior Amateur Sectional Qualifier at the country club on Thursday.

Earlier this summer, Matt Holuta qualified for the Junior Amateur Championship, and Sue McMurdy made the Senior Women’s Amateur Championship.

Erickson, a DuBois native, qualified for the 17th USGA event of his career. He won the spot on the first playoff hole after tying Pittsburgh’s Paul Schlachter at 71 through 18 holes.

The Senior Amateur Championship is Sept. 21 through 26 at Wade Hampton Golf Club in Cashiers, N.C.

W.H. Spadafora, of Indiana, shot an 81 in the qualifier.

• The club championship is next weekend.


AT MEADOW LANE: Charlene Hornfeck and Kathy Whitesel won the Putt for Points event in the Ladies’ 18-Hole league on Wednesday. Hornfeck had the low points, and Whitesel had the high points.

Betty Lukehart won the special event, making the longest putt on No. 8. Whitesel had a birdie on No. 5.


ON THE JUNIOR CIRCUIT: Two days after winning the Chestnut Ridge Golf Course club championship, Ian Illig won his division in the North East Junior Golf Tour’s championship event.

Illig, of Homer City, shot a 71, the best score of the day, to win the boys’ 16- to 18-year-old Oakmont Division by seven strokes on Tuesday at the Scotch Valley Country Club in Hollidaysburg.

Ian Helsel and Mason Frumkin, both of Indiana, finished second in the boys’ 13-15 age group, Helsel in the Oakmont Division with an 84 and Frumkin in the Pine Valley Division with a 90.

Wade Semsick, of Indiana, finished seventh in the boys’ 16-18 Oakmont Division with an 85.

Roman Tate and Seth Peterman, both of Clymer, shot 91 and 92, respectively, to finish sixth and seventh in the boys’ 16-18 Pine Valley Division.

• C.J. Hughes, of Indiana, finished second in the boys’ 14-year-old division in the Kings Restaurants Player of the Year tournament at the Nemacolin Woodlands Resort Mystic Rock course on Wednesday.

Hughes shot a 6-over-par 78 to finish two strokes behind the champion.

Sydney Syster, of Derry, finished eighth in the girls’ 16-18 division with a 94, and Alexa Strong, of Indiana, took 11th with a 103.


PHOTO: The 31st annual Chip-In for Lifesteps Indiana Golf Classic was held Wednesday at the Indiana Country Club. Pictured are, from left, Mark Zellman, tournament committee; Rich Miller, tournament committee; Karen Owens, Lifesteps president and CEO; Greg Sipos, tournament committee chairman and Lifesteps board member; Wally Enick, tournament committee; and Nikki VanDyke, Lifesteps community relations representative.

Eli Nellis is a sports writer for The Indiana Gazette.
Next Article
Car bombs kill scores in Iraq
August 11, 2013 2:10 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.