Indiana, PA - Indiana County

Football players earn awards

on January 28, 2014 10:20 AM

RICHLAND TOWNSHIP — Two players from each of the nine Heritage Conference schools were recognized during the 43rd annual Southern Alleghenies Football Coaches Association banquet Sunday at the Richland Fire Hall.

Named offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, for their teams were: Preston Brida and Luke Ratkus, Blairsville; Luke Monko and Mike Newhouse, Homer-Center; Thad Welch and Jake Bothell, Marion Center; Joe Frontino and Derek Baker, Northern Cambria; John Stupic and Luke Ruddock, Penns Manor; Grant Syster and Gavin Ewing, Purchase Line; Alec Bloom and Dereck Croyle, Ligonier Valley; Lucas Mowery and Tyler Bendis, Saltsburg; and Weylon McGeary and Seth McLendon, United.

Homer-Center’s Greg Page was named the North section coach of the year. Former Blairsville coach Ab Dettorre, who retired after the 2012 season, was also honored for his achievements.

Next Article
Punxsutawney wins YMCA games
January 28, 2014 10:10 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.