Indiana, PA - Indiana County

HIGH SCHOOL WRESTLING: Teams exit district playoffs

by The Indiana Gazette on January 31, 2014 10:20 AM

Eleventh-seeded Penns Valley upset sixth-seeded Blairsville, 44-31, in the opening round of the District 6 Class AA team dual wrestling championships Thursday at Mount Union High School.

Hunter Cunningham (113 pounds), Drew Doak (152) and Scott Thompson (182) each won by fall for the Bobcats. Luke Mowery (138) and Brandon Cunkleman (285) each won by decision.

Blairsville (6-5) competes in the Coatesville Duals on Saturday.

• On Wednesday, Juniata won 10 of 14 bouts to best United, 50-24, in an opening-round match at West Branch High School.

Tyler Mack (152), Tyler Oliver (195), Seth McLendon (220) and Andrew Deitman (285) each won by fall for United.

United visits Northern Cambria on Monday.


CENTRAL CAMBRIA 50, UNITED 30: Central Cambria racked up seven pins to beat visiting United in a non-conference match Thursday.

Tyler Mack (152), Josh Young (182), Tyler Oliver (195), Seth McLendon (220) and Andrew Deitman (285) scored pins for United.

United (8-4) travels to Northern Cambria on Monday.


INDIANA 48, HIGHLANDS 30: Indiana scored its second straight win by defeating Highlands in a WPIAL non-section wrestling match Thursday at home.

Ben Turner (126 pounds), Travis Berry (160), Bobby Bell (170) and Kyle Nothnagel (285) each won by fall for Indiana.

Indiana (3-9) competes in the West Shamokin Duals on Saturday.


LIGONIER VALLEY 63, NORTHERN CAMBRIA 6: Ligonier Valley thumped winless Northern Cambria in a Heritage Conference wrestling match Wednesday.

Gordon Matson (120 pounds), Joe Neiderhiser (160), Nathan Trottier (182) and Joe Shafron (220) each won by fall for the Rams. Carlos Chavez (106) won by decision.

Gus Yahner (152) won by fall to lead Northern Cambria.

Ligonier Valley (5-7) travels to Everett on Tuesday, and Northern Cambria (0-8) welcomes United on Monday.

Next Article
HIGH SCHOOL RIFLE: Indiana team falls to Butler
January 31, 2014 10:10 AM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.