Penns Manor high school sign

KENWOOD — Penns Manor Area School District’s board of directors approved the proposed 2019-20 general operating budget for the Indiana County Technology Center, at its meeting Thursday night.

The $6,495,963 budget includes a $397,026 share Penns Manor has to pay, up $22,370 from 2018-19.

Superintendent Daren K. Johnston said there has been a net increase over the past three years in the number of Penns Manor Area students attending the White Township vo-tech school.

The board also voted to use $1 million from the district’s fund balance committed for specific purposes and transfer that money into the district’s Capital Reserve Account.

And the directors approved revisions to multiple policies, and gave first reading to a revised Policy 249 which covers bullying and cyberbullying. All the policies can be found on the district website.

Personnel matters approved by the board included adding Richard Bowser, Amanda Long, Conner Ringler and Corie Yeager as drivers for Tri-County Transportation during the remaining weeks of 2018-19; Erin Zack as a support staffer in the nurses’ office; and John Detwiler as a baseball volunteer coach.

Alice Arnold was advanced on the salary schedule from Masters’ Step 2 to Masters-plus-20-hours Step 2, at an annual salary of $61,821 effective Monday.

Ashley Lindahl’s resignation as head cheerleading coach was accepted, and the administration was authorized to post and advertise for that position.

If the funds are available, Gerald Hughes will receive his summer salary as a lump sum payment in June.

In other business, the board approved:

• An agreement with “Ignite Solutions” for drop-out prevention/transition support at Admiral Peary Area Vocational Technical School during 2019-20 at a cost not to exceed $67,283.

• A 60-month lease agreement with U.S. Bank for two Sharp multi-function printer/copiers, one for the elementary school, one for the high school, at $769.70 a month, based on a state COSTARS contract, and a 60-month maintenance agreement with The Wilson Group for those printer/copiers at $700 per month.

• A three-year contract with Waste Management for trash disposal, with the first year costs set at $760.11 per month when school is in session and $238.09 per month when school is not in session, and recycling at $561.82 per load plus $25 per ton. In each succeeding year there will be a 4 percent increase in costs.

• A one-year contract extension with Canton’s Driving School Inc., at $195 per student for behind-the-wheel instruction ($200 if gasoline is $4 or more per gallon), with students paying $50 apiece. The district covers the $60 cost for students unable to receive classroom training, with approval of the high school principal.

• A renewed contract with CAMCO Physical and Occupational Therapy LLC for the 2019-20 school year, to provide therapy services to students with special needs at $62 an hour, up $2 from the previous contract.

• The 2019 Summer Lunch Program to take place June 10-13, 17-20 and 24-27; July 1-3; and Aug. 5-9 and 12-16.

• Title I-funded Elementary Jump Start classes from 9-11:30 a.m. on Aug. 5-9 and 12-16.

• A senior class trip for the Class of 2020 to Washington, D.C., Baltimore and Kings Dominion in Doswell, Va., from May 17-19, 2020. The cost to the district is $360 for substitute teachers and $210 to cover meals when both class advisers are traveling with the senior class.

Also Thursday, new high school band boosters’ president James Dalecki and his wife, boosters’ concessions manager Shelly Dalecki, introduced themselves and urged parents to join them in fundraising efforts needed for the band’s March trip to Florida.

And a long list of students were recognized on several levels, including:

• Gwyn Keith as Pennsylvania Music Educators Association student of the month; Pauline Spielman as a state band participant; and Brooke Price, Sarah Stiteler, Maggie Hill, Silas Bothell, Lizzie Diehl, Kendra Fairman and Danielle Sabo as middle school band fest participants.

• Morgan Buterbaugh and Daniel Larkin as Heritage Conference Scholar Athletes; and all-conference honorees Tommy Hamilton in boys’ basketball, Autumn Fennell and Abby Tomayko in girls’ basketball and Katie Offman in cheerleading.

• Mary Ellen Lohr, Ethan Joiner, Allison Polenik, Parker Clayton and alternates Reese Hays and Dimitri Lieb for a second-place tie in the Heritage Conference Current Events Competition; and Luke Rainey, Blake Eshelman, Autumn Raffaele, Morgan Baker and Jacob Buterbaugh for a fourth-place finish in the conference Impromptu Speech Competition.

• Jimmy Lightner and Larkyn Crowe as winners of District 6 sportsmanship awards.

• Parker Clayton and Devin McCunn for placing first, Brock Sleppy, Bryan Koches and Gretta Ratay second and Dimitri Lieb, Tommy Letso and Ijae Karlinsey third in Junior Achievement Titan Western Pennsylvania competition.

Also, All-Academic teams named by included Silver honorees Colton Bash, Kevin Baum, Mason Engle, John Hopkins, Dimitri Lieb, Jimmy Lightner, Dalton Nichol, Mike Rizzo and Austin Yeager; and Bronze honorees Brandon Baird, Bryce Chiodini, Tommy Hamilton, Ethan Joiner, Ijae Karlinsey, Erick Keith, Anthony Larch, Trenton Mason, Reece McCombs, Andrew Packer and Garrett Patterson.