In a vote Thursday that capped two days of board meetings at the Dixon University Center in Harrisburg, Cynthia D. Shapira, of Pittsburgh, was retained as chair of the board that governs the 14 state-owned universities within PASSHE, including Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

The board also re-elected David M. Maser, of Philadelphia, and Samuel H. Smith, of Punxsutawney, as vice chairs.

Maser has been a vice chair since 2014 and also chairs the board’s Student Success Committee.

Smith also is chairman of the Council of Trustees at IUP and formerly was a state House member for Jefferson County and part of Indiana County, and a past speaker of the state House.

His role with the Board of Governors includes chairing its Audit and Compliance Committee.

The board also honored Dr. Peter H. Garland, a longtime executive vice chancellor of PASSHE who retired last month, with a State System Foundation endowed scholarship fund in his honor.

Shapira hailed Garland’s “more than three decades of dedication to education and public service.”