April 05, 2013 10:40 AM

Here's a periodic roundup of academic achievements of Indiana County area students in post-secondary education:

Alexis Pavolik

Alexis A. Pavolik, of Indiana, was named to the dean’s list at Lock Haven University for the fall semester.

She is a senior Pre-K major.

Jessica Sidman

Jessica Sidman, of Apollo, is a fall 2012 graduate of Slippery Rock University.

She received a Bachelor of Science degree in education, with concentration in elementary education, K-6.

Trevor Britton

Trevor Britton, of Commodore, a second-year student in Rochester (N.Y.) Institute of Technology’s Kate Gleason College of Engineering, made the dean’s list for the winter 2013 quarter.

Amanda Adkins

Amanda Adkins, of Indiana, a first-year student majoring in computer science, has been named a Charles O. Thompson Scholar for the 2012-13 academic year at Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) in Worcester, Mass.

Anthony Piccolini

Anthony Piccolini was named to the Ohio Northern University dean’s list for the fall semester.

Dean’s list status is awarded to students who earn a 3.5 grade-point average or better.

Piccolini is a second year pharmacy student and is a member of the Phi Delta Chi fraternity.

He was chosen as the Phi Delta Chi outstanding scholar for the fall semester.

The Phi Delta Chi fraternity is a professional and social fraternity whose mission is to advance the profession of pharmacy through fraternal activities.

Piccolini is the son of Tony and Dana Piccolini, of Indiana.

He is also a member of the Ohio Northern baseball team.

Ashley Glinsky

Ashley Glinsky, of Indiana, was honored with a membership into Tau Pi Phi, the honorary fraternity for business, at Juniata College, Huntingdon.

Glinsky, the daughter of Frederick and Sharon Glinsky, is a 2009 graduate of Indiana Area Senior High School.

To join Tau Pi Phi a student must have a GPA of over 3.2 and a major in business. Students compete in teams against other small colleges finding solutions to cases, such as the Harvard Cases, and then presenting to a panel of business leaders.

Brianna Hozak

Brianna J. Hozak, a junior human services major from Home and a Marion Center Area High School graduate, was named to the dean’s list for the fall semester at Waynesburg University in Waynesburg.

The honor recognizes students for outstanding academic achievement during the previous semester. Honorees must be classified as undergraduate students, be enrolled full time with a load of 12 hours or more in graded courses, and must achieve a semester grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a four-point scale.

Slippery Rock University dean’s list

SLIPPERY ROCK — The following area students were named to the dean’s list at Slippery Rock University for the fall semester:

Apollo: Stephen Bierly, Michael Corsi, Ryan Coulter, Grace Evans, Brianna Laird, Bernard Spix

Avonmore: Samantha Jones, Jennifer Meighan

Black Lick: Floyd Hilty

Blairsville: Kathryn Jones

Clymer: Sara Fuehrer

Commodore: Stephanie Brady

Derry: Johnna Dwire

Home: Nicole Stiffler, Taylor Stiteler

Homer City: Hilary Scheuermann

Indiana: Jared Caroff, Nicole DeLuca, Joanna Fliss, Emily Herring, Abigail Hewitt, Kyla Perry

Ligonier: Jessica Davis, Mark Gruss

Mahaffey: Alexander Bakaysa

Marion Center: Lucy Fetsko

New Alexandria: Zachary Rudy

North Apollo: Samantha Artman, Aubree Held

Northern Cambria: Samantha Kollar

Punxsutawney: Jacob Geist, Samantha Osikowicz, Kirby Starr

Rossiter: Amber Baker, Amber Lellock

Gretchen Nisbet

Gretchen Nisbet, of Indiana, has been selected for membership in Delta Alpha Pi international honor society, Beta Zeta chapter, at Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

The daughter of Dana and Marilyn Nisbet, she is a 2009 graduate of Indiana Area Senior High School and a communications media major/theater minor at IUP.

A dean’s list student and a recipient of the Virginia A. Deem journalism scholarship, Nisbet is a member of the National Broadcasting Society, IUP-TV and the Lambda Pi Eta communications society.

Students are chosen for membership in the honor society based on academic achievement and involvement with the IUP Office of Disability Support Services. Delta Alpha Pi is the only honor society in the nation established specifically to recognize the academic accomplishments of students with disabilities.

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.,16951691/