April 29, 2013 10:30 AM

Maggie Slawson won four individual events to lead United to a sweep of Homer-Center and Northern Cambria in a Heritage Conference triangular meet Thursday.

United topped Homer-Center, 111-32, and Northern Cambria, 106-44. Northern Cambria beat Homer-Center, 105-36.

Slawson won the 100, 400, long jump and high jump to lead United (5-1). Kennedy Fletcher won the shot put, discus and javelin, and Laken Pudliner took the 100 hurdles and 300 hurdles. Eden Bloom won the triple jump. The 400 relay team, which consisted of Laura Brilhart, Morgan Strait, Wendi Walsh and Hannah Stephens, placed first.

Allyson Kopera won the 1,600 and 800 to pace Northern Cambria. Adrienne Tubo won the pole vault.

Jill Overman won the 200 for Homer-Center (0-4). Overman also ran on the winning 3,200 and 1,600 relay teams. Others on the 3,200 team were Jaime Rura, Maggie McLoughlin and Heather Paynter, and others on the 1,600 team were Katelyn Smith, Rura and McLoughlin. Also, Paynter placed first in the 3,200.

In the boys’ meet, Northern Cambria swept Homer-Center, 78-72, and United, 97 1/2 -51 1/2 . Homer-Center defeated United, 77-64.

Derek Bearer led Northern Cambria (6-1) with a win in the 100. Bearer also ran on the winning 3,200 relay team, which also consisted of Chris Woodley, C.J. Weirwoira and Reis Hill. Other first-place finishers included Chris Woodley (3,200), Seth Bearer (200), Gus Yahner (pole vault) and Evan Ludwig (javelin).

Shawn Lichvar paced United (2-4) by winning the 400 and 800.

Levi McCracken led the Wildcats (2-2) with wins in the 110 hurdles and 300 hurdles. McCracken also anchored the winning 1,600 relay team, which consisted of Joe Capitosti, Jared Nealey and Devin Zayac. Capitosti also won the high jump and long jump, Mike Newhouse won the shot put, Logan Pollack took the 1,600, and Cody Miller won the discus.


APOLLO-RIDGE FALLS: Free-port earned a sweep over Apollo-Ridge in a WPIAL Section 7-AA meet in Spring Church. The Apollo-Ridge boys lost, 103-43, and the girls fell, 125-25.

Dom Schrecengost won the long jump and triple jump to lead the boys. Ben Gemballa won the discus, Damon Blystone took the javelin, Cody Joyner won the shot put, and Matt Tamski took the 800.

On the girls’ side, Reannah Martin took the pole vault, and Ariana Coleman won the javelin.

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.