Three honored with distinguished faculty award
May 04, 2013 10:59 AM
Click for Image Gallery Click For Gallery

Three Indiana University of Pennsylvania faculty members have been selected for the 2013 University Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards.

Since 1969, IUP has presented these awards to honor faculty members who make significant contributions to the university.

The 2013 winners are Fredalene Bowers, human development and environmental studies, Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching; Edel Reilly, mathematics, Distinguished Faculty Award for Service; and Mike Sell, English, Distinguished Faculty Award for Research.

Each year, the University Senate invites students, administrators and the faculty and staff to nominate faculty members for these awards, and the Senate’s Awards Committee determines the winners. Award recipients are recognized at the May commencement ceremony.

Bowers, who serves as chair of her department, has worked at IUP since 2008. She has been recognized for a commitment to mentoring students and implementing a variety of teaching strategies to meet student needs.

The award was also based on her strong student evaluations, use of authentic assessment in the classroom, involvement in professional organizations, recognition for advising and teaching excellence by the Center for Teaching Excellence and history of writing successful grants to benefits students.

These grants have included $55,000 from the Pennsylvania Department of Education to develop a program assisting child care providers in obtaining undergraduate degrees and $456,000 from the Department of Education to provide child care to IUP student parents.

She also is the 2003-04 recipient of the College of Health and Human Services Outstanding Teacher Award.

Reilly, who has worked in mathematics education for 16 years at IUP, has been in many leadership roles related to curriculum development, professional development for professors and IUP faculty governance. She currently chairs the Center for Teaching Excellence Advisory Board, the Teacher Educator Coordinators Council Curriculum Committee and the mathematics department’s Elementary Mathematics Education Committee.

She is also secretary of the University Senate and has been an elected senator since 2008.

She is a member of several other university professional committees, including the new science building committee, and she served on the IUP Common Freshman Reader Selection Committee.

Sell, a member of the English department since 1999, has published many essays for journals and anthologies, reference articles and book reviews.

He has been recognized with honorable mention for the Outstanding Article Award of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education and has co-created and edited a column for Theatre Survey, the journal of the American Society for Theatre Research.

His newest book, “The Avant-Garde: Race Religion War,” is being distributed by the University of Chicago Press.

He is currently co-writing a book, “The Avant-Garde: A Critical Introduction,” and is working with IUP English professor emerita and internationally acclaimed poet Rosaly Roffman on an “alternative finder’s guide” to her personal and professional archive, recently acquired by IUP.

He has been an invited presenter at national and international meetings and has organized multiple seminars for the annual American Society for Theatre Research conference.

He is the recipient of six awards for teaching and mentoring students.

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.,17166485/