IUP to graduate 1,900
May 16, 2013 10:50 AM

More than 1,900 students will graduate Saturday from Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

Commencement ceremonies will be held at the Kovalchick Convention and Athletic Complex.

Suzy Teele, a 1982 graduate of IUP who has been as an integral part of the Pittsburgh technology community for 20 years, will give the commencement address.

Teele is chief operating officer of SnapRetail, a Pittsburgh-based company that provides affordable software solutions to small retailers. She is responsible for all strategic and tactical aspects of marketing, software development, customer support and human resources. SnapRetail has hired and provided internship opportunities to many current and former IUP students.

Teele served as president and chief operating officer of Matrix Solutions, an analytics software company that reached its highest profitability growth in five years under her leadership.

Before joining Matrix Solutions, she formed Aceda, a management consulting firm that provided interim executives for sales, marketing and business; served as senior vice president of marketing at ServiceWare (now Consona); and held a variety of roles at Legent Corporation (now CA Technologies), one of the world’s largest software companies.

Teele serves on the boards of Touchtown Inc. and PowerLink, and she teaches in entrepreneurship programs at the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University.

Having earned an IUP Distinguished Alumni Award in 2004, Teele was inducted into the Eberly College of Business and Information Technology Hall of Distinction in 2012. She served as a member of the IUP Alumni Association Board of Directors for eight years and was president from 2008 to 2010.

She and her husband, Ted Teele, and their six children live in Pittsburgh. Her son, Michael Nicastro, will earn his bachelor’s degree in communications media from IUP on Saturday.

More than 1,900 graduates are eligible to participate in the ceremony for the granting of 1,570 bachelor’s, 294 master’s, 53 doctoral and three associate degrees. Of the bachelor’s degree recipients, 794 qualify for Latin honors (3.25 or higher grade-point average) and 51 achieved a perfect 4.0 grade-point average during their studies at IUP.

IUP will hold two ceremonies, both in the Kovalchick Complex, combining undergraduate and graduate students.

The 9 a.m. ceremony will be for students from the colleges of Fine Arts, Health and Human Services, and Natural Sciences and Mathematics. The 1:30 p.m. ceremony will be for students from the Eberly College of Business and Information Technology and the colleges of Education and Educational Technology and Humanities and Social Sciences.

The ceremonies also will continue the tradition of honoring the 50-year reunion class, this year the Class of 1963. Class members will lead the procession into Ed Fry Arena during the morning ceremony.

Student speakers will be Taylor Jeanne Mullholand, of Richmond, Va., in the morning and Grey D. Berrier III, of Pulaski, in the afternoon. Mullholand is a criminology major with a minor in history. Berrier is a double major in finance and economics.

IUP President Michael Driscoll will preside over the ceremonies and will be joined by Susan Delaney, chairwoman of the IUP Council of Trustees; Timothy Moerland, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs; and Timothy Mack, dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, for the conferring of the degrees.

Parking on campus will be open to all visitors, except in the following areas: the Clark Hall parking lot, reserved for members of the Class of 1963; portions of the Miller Stadium parking lot, reserved for handicapped parking; and the Kovalchick Complex VIP parking area, located in front of the building, and loading dock area. Police officers will be at each intersection from Grant Street south to the Kovalchick Complex to assist visitors.

Many departments are holding individual commencement ceremonies. A complete list is available on the IUP commencement website at www.iup.edu/commencement.

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.