July 15, 2013 10:40 AM

Michelle Simpson

Michelle Simpson, of Saltsburg, recently received the degree of Master of Science: Applied Psychology, from Sacred Heart University, Fairfield, Conn.

Samuel L. Esarey

Samuel L. Esarey, of Blairsville, recently received a Bachelor of Science degree from Denison University, Granville, Ohio.

Esarey graduated cum laude, with a major in chemistry and a minor in physics. A consistent dean's list student, he was a J. Reid and Polly Anderson Scholar and a senior fellow in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He received the Denison Founders Award, the Dr. Albert W. and Ida C. Davison Scholarship, and the John C. Weaver Award.

Esarey's senior research project was "Hydrothermal synthesis of hematite nanostructures for solar water splitting." He tutored for math and physics and was a member of the Chemical Society and the Society of Physics Students. Esarey was a class co-governor, a head resident, a resident assistant and a member of the University Appeals Board.

Michael Miller

Michael Miller, of Saltsburg, was named to the spring dean’s list for the University of Toledo, Toledo, Ohio. Miller is an adolescent and young adult education major.

William & Mary dean’s list

The following area students were recently named to the spring dean's list at the College of William & Mary, Williamsburg, Va.:

Indiana: Evan Chandler, Garnet Fryling

Puttagounder Swaminathan

Puttagounder Dhanasekaran Swaminathan, of Blairsville, recently received a Doctor of Philosophy, Mechanical Engineering degree from Wichita State University, Wichita, Kan.

John Cekovsky

John J. Cekovsky, Punxsutawney, recently received a Bachelor of Science in digital forensics from Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania, in Bloomsburg.

Pennsylvania College of Technology dean’s list

WILLIAMSPORT — The following area students were named to the dean’s list at the Pennsylvania College of Technology in Williamsport for the spring semester:

Armagh — Anders T. Felton, Associate of Applied Science, welding technology

Creekside — Cody T. Marshall, Associate of Applied Science, heavy construction equipment technology: technician emphasis

Home — Timothy W. LaVan, Associate of Applied Science, heavy construction equipment technology: Caterpillar equipment emphasis

Homer City — Grant L. Smith, Bachelor of Science, building automation technology

Mahaffey — Tyler J. Bennett, Bachelor of Science, manufacturing engineering technology

New Florence — Timothy B. Boring, Associate of Applied Science, renewable energy technologies

Patton — Travis A. Hoover, Associate of Applied Science, diesel technology

Shippensburg University dean’s list

SHIPPENSBURG — The following area students were named to the dean’s list at Shippensburg University for the spring semester:

Apollo — Jessica Collins, Krista Williams

Patton — Heather Winter

Punxsutawney — Thomas Bush

Edinboro University graduates

EDINBORO — The following area students graduated from Edinboro University upon completion of course requirements in the spring semester:

Apollo — Jessica Lynn Manofsky, Master of Education/Reading

Homer City — Jennifer Yurky, Bachelor of Science in middle level education.

Ligonier — Christopher DeMayo, Bachelor of Science in art education.

Shelocta — Domingo Smith, Bachelor of arts in criminal justice.

Edinsboro University dean’s list

EDINBORO — The following area students were named to the dean’s list at Edinboro University for the spring semester:

Anita — Emily Jones

Apollo — Brianna Brusco, Jesse Scanga

Avonmore — Fawn Martz

Derry — Meghan Akins, Nathan Kamenar, Molly Snyder

Homer City — Jennifer Yurky

Indiana — Emma Domaracki, Megan Dulion, Megan Parker

Ligonier — Christopher DeMayo

Punxsutawney — Heather Heitzenrater

Shelocta — Samantha Blose, Amber Hobbins, Domingo Smith

Strongstown — Kevin Gorman

Thelma C. Smith Fund scholarship recipients

BLAIRSVILLE — The Thelma C. Smith Fund announced that seven Blairsville area students have been awarded nursing scholarships for the 2013-2014 school year.

This year’s recipients of awards and their schools are as follows:

• Indiana University of Pennsylvania — Jolee Dennae, Frankie J. Houser, Megan A. Shutter, Alexis J. Sulkosky-Tarasovich

• Mt. Aloysius College — Lauren J. Ankney

• Robert Morris University — Wendy Teamann

• Westmoreland County Community College — Alyssa L. Smith

The Thelma C. Smith Fund was established under the will of the late Thelma C. Smith, a former resident of Burrell Township. S&T Wealth Management Group acts as agent for William T. Shulick, James T. Fulmer and Alma Fulmer, trustees of the Thelma C. Smith Fund.

Slippery Rock dean’s list

SLIPPERY ROCK — The following area students were named to the dean’s list at Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania for the spring semester:

Apollo — Stephen Bierly, Ryan Coulter, Brianna Laird, Emma McDonald, Bernard Spix

Blairsville — Kathryn Jones, Corey Molitor

Clymer — Sara Fuehrer

Commodore — Stephanie Brady

Derry — Jessica Skovira, Zachary Wisneski

Home — Taylor Stiteler

Homer City — Hilary Scheuermann

Indiana — Joanna Fliss, Emily Herring, Abigail Hewitt, Bridget McClure, Kyla Perry, Camilla Tonkin

Leechburg — Ciara Brown, Hollie Compton, Randy Dengler, Andrew Hampshire, Garrett Miller, Mary Miskinis, Miranda Ryan, Bryan Szostak, Chelsea Young

Ligonier — Alexandra Pleskovitch

Mahaffey — Alexander Bakaysa, Jeffrey Patterson

Marion Center — Lucy Fetsko

Nanty Glo — Alexis Crookshank, Joshua Duman, Albert Pagano

Northern Cambria — Samantha Kollar

Patton — Virginia Smithmyer

Punxsutawney — Shannon Byerly, Jacob Geist, Taylor Hopkins, Samantha Osikowicz

Rossiter — Amber Lellock

Rural Valley — Abigail Rodgers

Seward — Corri McGinnis

Spring Church — George Kimmel

Vandergrift — Katlyn Glendenning, Emily Peppler, Kayla Ritenbaugh

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.,17651763/