NHL: Shero named top GM
June 16, 2013 2:50 AM

CHICAGO (AP) — The Pittsburgh Penguins’ Ray Shero was named general manager of the year, Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews won the Frank J. Selke Trophy for the NHL’s best defensive forward, and Paul MacLean of the Ottawa Senators is the league’s coach of the year.

Toews, 25, was third in the NHL with a plus-28 rating in 47 games in the regular season. The center also was a finalist for the award after the 2010-11 season.

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron also was up the award. Toews and Bergeron are competing in the Stanley Cup finals.

The Lady Byng trophy for the NHL’s most sportsmanlike player went to Tampa Bay forward Martin St. Louis for the third time in four seasons.

Minnesota Wild goalie Josh Harding won the NHL’s Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for perseverance.

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.