Dr. McDowell receives excellence award
December 17, 2013 10:50 AM
Click for Image Gallery Click For Gallery

Dr. Edward McDowell was selected as the recipient of the 2013 James A. Garrettson Jr. Physician Excellence Award at Indiana Regional Medical Center. McDowell specializes in cardiology and has practiced in Indiana for more than 31 years.

The Physician Excellence Award was established in 2006 to recognize physicians that exemplify excellence in performance, leadership, clinical expertise, patient care and service excellence.

McDowell served as medical staff president for five years. He actively participates on medical staff committees.

He founded Empower3 Center for Health, a program to provide affordable health care coverage for firefighters and patients who meet income guidelines. McDowell is known for going above and beyond what is necessary for his patients, along with his expertise and his calm, caring professional manner.

Since its inception, the award has been presented annually by Indiana Regional medical staff and senior leadership.

Nominations for the award can be made by members of the IRMC family, employees and physician colleagues, and are finalized by a selection committee of the medical staff.

Criteria for the award include but are not limited to: Length of tenure (minimum of 10 years); quality of care; community service; medical record compliance; participation in committee and department meetings; frequency of positive feedback indicating patient satisfaction; professional interaction with peers and with IRMC staff; leadership; commitment to professional development of self and others; promoting the values and mission of the hospital; and, by example, must be recognized as a role model for the profession of medicine.

Prior recipients for the award are Thomas McCoy (2006), Shafic Twal (2007), Alex Juhasz (2008), Russell Drozdiak (2009), Donna Balewick. (2010), Stella Boron (2011) and Mark Boykiw (2012).

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.