INDIANA: Board signs on with digital consortium
December 17, 2013 10:44 AM

School districts in Indiana and Armstrong counties soon will be getting more digital bang for their ever dwindling bucks.

The Armstrong-Indiana Intermediate Unit 28 has formed a consortium to provide a range of technology services at attractive group rates for the districts in the region.

The Indiana Area School District is among several that signed on with the program this past week. The district’s board of school directors last week approved participation in ARIN’s regional wide-area network consortium for Internet and Ethernet services at $1,828.59 a month, eligible for e-Rate discount and for firewall service, network management and maintenance fees totaling $450 a month from July 1, 2014, through June 30, 2019.

In other business, the Indiana school board:

• Agreed to pay $21,870 from the construction fund for the replacement of aged stage curtains in the senior high school auditorium.

“The curtains were installed in the 1991 renovation project and have since lost their fire-retardant properties,” board member John Barbor said. “So they are not only an eyesore, but a danger.”

• Approved a contract for transportation services between the district and STA of Pennsylvania, also known as Krise Bus Service, from July 1 to June 30, 2019.

• Approved the purchase of snow guards for the sloped part of the roof of Ben Franklin Elementary school at a cost of $12,600.

• Accepted a request by high school Principal Wade McElheny to waive his $600 goal-achievement stipend and to donate the funds to the high school budget.

• Appointed Business Manager Jared Cronauer to represent the district on the Indiana County Tax Collection Committee and accountant Rebecca Pizer to serve as the alternate delegate, each for a one-year term.

• Appointed board member Deborah Clawson to serve as the PSBA liaison for the district.

• Named board members Thomas Harley, Diana Paccapaniccia and John Uccellini as the district’s representatives to the Indiana Area Parks and Recreation Commission board.

Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.,18871379/