indiana area senior high school totem sign

Visitors taking in Indiana Area school board business in the coming year should be getting out of the meetings earlier than in the past.

That’s because they’ll need to show up earlier. School board session start times were bumped by one half hour as the school board set its meeting schedule and selected leadership for 2020.

Committee meetings will be backed up to 5:30 p.m., executive sessions will start at 6:30 p.m. and the board’s voting meetings will begin at 7 p.m.

The board will hold regular meetings on the second Monday of most months and special meetings on the fourth Mondays; although their purposes have different names, their functions are indistinguishable as the directors debate policy, hear reports and vote on immediate business before them.

The directors debated but turned down a move to cancel the fourth-Monday meetings, as director Terry Kerr suggested, because the board and administration have achieved a level of efficiency that has sometimes left scant business to address at the end of the month.

The board committees will continue their past meeting schedule: Academic/Extracurricular, the first Monday; Policy & Personnel, the second Monday; Buildings/Grounds & transportation, the third Monday; and Audit & Finance, the fourth Monday. The Outreach Committee will announce meetings when needed.

At a reorganization session immediately preceding the board’s only scheduled business meeting for December, newly elected directors Cinda Brode and Tamie Blank joined re-elected directors Terry Kerr, Tamara Leeper and Walter Schroth in taking their oath of office for the next four years. Board members John Barbor and Douglas Steve’s terms expired when they chose not to run for re-election.

Directors unanimously re-elected Schroth as president and Julia Trimarchi Cuccaro as vice president, each for a third year. Schroth will represent the board at the Pennsylvania School Boards Association convention.