Indiana, PA - Indiana County

SALTSBURG: Yearbook committee honored for excellence

by RAYANNON WILLETT, Gazette Student News Reporter on November 02, 2012 10:30 AM

SALTSBURG -- This year the Saltsburg Senior High School yearbook committee was awarded The National Yearbook Program of Excellence Award from Jostens.

The committee received the award for outstanding work ethic, increased yearbook sales and completing deadlines on time.

Two seniors, Calie Weimer and Nichole Johnson, serve as editors for the yearbook program, which is overseen by Kathy Muir, who also teaches math at the school. Weimer and Johnson's job as editors is to design the cover and themes of the Saltsburg Middle/Senior High yearbook.

Because of their creativity and organizational skills, they were chosen by Jostens for this year's award that is only granted to one out of 317 schools from across the nation.The award was based on the layout of the yearbook, captions of the photos and the design of the cover.

The theme of last year's yearbook was Trojan Pride in recognition of some of the sports being de-consolidated.

The girls said they "enjoy creating new designs and perfecting the book so other students can someday look back at the memories they have experienced here at Saltsburg."

Congratulations to the Saltsburg yearbook committee. We can't wait to see the 2012-13 yearbook and the unique styles added.

Next Article
Two NYC boys found dead, swept away by storm waters
November 01, 2012 11:00 PM
Disclaimer: Copyright © 2017 Indiana Gazette. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.