Indiana, PA - Indiana County

Indiana Borough

Indiana Borough


Settled: 1804

Land area: 1.8 square miles

Population (2010 census): 13,975

Elevation: 1,396 feet

Namesake: Named for Indians who inhabited the land.

Mayor: George E. Hood

Council members: Nancy Jones, president; Ross Bricklemyer, vice president; Julie Adcock; Peter Broad; John
Hartman; Robert Jobe; Kevin Kravetsky; John Petrosky; Tom Thompson; Richard Thorell; Gerald Smith; Larry

Secretary: William Sutton

Solicitor: Wayne Kablack

Manager: William Sutton

Meetings: 7 p.m. on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in the borough building

Office: 80 N. Eighth St., Indiana, (724) 465-6691

Budget: $5,952,966 in general fund

State representation: Rep. Dave Reed, R; Sen. Don White, R

Congressman: U.S. Reps. Bill Shuster, R (Wards 1 and 4); and U.S. Rep. Mark Critz, D (Wards 2 and 3)

Did you know?  The borough’s original municipal building, built in 1913, was located along North Seventh Street?

Did you know?  Executions were carried out in the courtyard of the old sheriff’s house and jail along North Sixth
Street? The last was on Nov. 23, 1913.