Indiana, PA - Indiana County

Armstrong School District

Latest News



Municipalities encompassed: Armstrong County – Applewold, Atwood, Dayton, Elderton, Ford City, Ford Cliff, Kittanning, Manorville, Rural Valley, West Kittanning and Worthington boroughs; Bethel, Boggs, Burrell, Cadogan, Cowanshannock, East Franklin, Kittanning, Manor, North Buffalo, Pine, Plumcreek, Rayburn, South Bend, Valley, Washington, Wayne and West Franklin townships.
    Indiana County – Smicksburg Borough, West Mahoning Township

Schools:  West Shamokin Jr.-Sr. High School
    Kittanning Senior High School
    Ford City Jr.-Sr. High School
    Kittanning Junior High School
    Dayton Elementary
    Elderton Elementary School
    Lenape Elementary School
    Shannock Valley Elementary
    West Hills Primary
    West Hills Intermediate

School board members:
• Joseph D. Close, president (Region 2) (Term expires December 2017)
• Christopher E. Concek, vice president (Region 2) (Term expires December 2015)
• Paul J. Lobby (Region 1) (Term expires December 2015)
• James T. Rearic (Region 1) (Term expires December 2017)
• Larry P. Robb Jr. (Region 1) (Term expires December 2015)
• Amy K. Lhote (Region 2) (Term expires December 2015)
• Stanley J. Berdell (Region 3) (Term expires December 2015)
• Timothy W. Scaife (Region 3) (Term expires December 2017)
• Linda K. Walker (Region 3) (Term expires December 2017)

Meeting days and location: Open caucus sessions and the regular monthly meetings, 7:30 p.m. Jan. 20, Jan. 23, Feb. 6, Feb. 10, March 6, March 10, April 10, April 14, May 8, May 12, June 12, June 16, Aug. 7, Aug. 11, Sept. 4, Sept. 8, Oct. 9, Oct. 13, Nov. 6, Nov. 10, Dec. 4, Dec. 8, 2014, Large Group Instruction Room (Room 2050) of the West Hills Intermediate Building  175 Heritage Park Drive, Kittanning.

Superintendent of Schools: Dr. Stan J. Chapp
Assistant Superintendent: Dr. Lyn R. Logelin
Director of Business Affairs: John A. Zenone
Assistant Business Manager: Jennifer Emmonds
Solicitor: Lee V. Price
Open Records Officer: Linda J. Ambrose
Treasurer: John A. Zenone
Board Secretary: Linda J. Ambrose
Coordinator of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment and Accountability: Dr. Shauna Braun-Zukowski
Coordinator of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment (K-6): Dr. Cheryl A. Soloski
Coordinator of Special Education and Pupil Services: Dr. Michael C. Glew
Coordinator of Special Education and Psychological Services: Dr. Matthew L. Pawk
Director of Student Transportation, Child Accounting and Safe Schools: Jon Fair
Director of Technology & Information Services: Anthony J. Grenda
Technology Coordinator: Chris Clawson
Director of Facilities and Property Services: Mr. William L. Henley
Intermediate Unit affiliation: Armstrong-Indiana Intermediate Unit No. 28
Technical school affiliation:
Budget:    $98,272,821
Taxes:    160.82 mills property tax, Indiana County
    56.63 mills property tax, Armstrong County
    per capita
    local services
    0.5 percent earned income
    0.5 percent real estate transfer

Total employees: 681
Employee bargaining units: (five)
Administration office: Administration Office, 181 Heritage Park Drive, Suite 2, Kittanning, PA  16201
Telephone: 724-548-6000
Fax: 724-548-7201